Henrico Marijuana, Henrico Marijuana Possession, Henrico Virginia Criminal Attorney, Henrico Virginia Criminal Attorneys, Henrico Virginia Criminal Law, Henrico Virginia Criminal Laws, Henrico Virginia Criminal Lawyer, Henrico Virginia Criminal Lawyers, Henrico Virginia Drug, Henrico Virginia Drug Lawyer, Henrico Virginia Drug Possession Defense Lawyer, Henrico Virginia Marijuana Laws, Henrico Virginia Marijuana Possession, Marijuana Possession, Marijuana Possession Penalties, Marijuana Possession Virginia, Marijuana Possession Virginia Drug, Possession Virginia Drug, Virginia Class 1 Misdemeanor, Virginia Drug, Virginia Drug Possession, Virginia Marijuana Laws
Henrico Lawyer Marijuana Possession Virginia Drug
Henrico Virginia Drug Possession Defense – Lawyer
A Drug Possession conviction can result in serious consequences. Most of our clients will do anything they can to keep their criminal record clean. A criminal conviction has a much greater impact than the immediate penalties imposed by the court. In Virginia, a first offense Possession of Marijuana is a Misdemeanor and carries a maximum of 30 days jail sentence and $500 fine. A second or subsequent offense becomes a Class 1 Misdemeanor and can carry a maximum 12 month jail sentence and a $2,500 fine. However, if you are a college student or have a job that might be impacted by this conviction, then this is just the beginning of your problems.
For a college student, a conviction for a drug-related crime could keep you from receiving student aid or loans. If you are applying for jobs, employers will see your conviction when they conduct a criminal background check. This is especially true for jobs requiring a security clearance. These are just some of the ways a minor drug conviction such as possession of marijuana or another drug crime in Henrico can wreak your life.
If you have been charged with even a simple possession of marijuana charge in Henrico, talk to an experienced Virginia Attorney who handles Drug Possession Charges in Henrico. This will enable you to decide how a conviction may affect you. A knowledgeable and experienced Virginia Attorney who defends drug possession charges in Henrico will discuss the facts of the case with you and will be able to fight for you and obtain the best possible outcome based on the facts of the case.
The lawyers at SRIS Law Group will do their best to help you. Do not hire a lawyer whose primary goal is to plea your case in Henrico Court, without seriously considering the opportunities to beat the charge at trial.
VIRGINIA MARIJUANA LAW
Marijuana Possession Penalties
A simple possession of marijuana in Virginia is a misdemeanor. The maximum penalties for a first offense possession of marijuana are 30 days in jail and a $500 fine for a first offense.
A simple possession of marijuana second (2nd) offense in Virginia is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The maximum penalty for a Virginia Class 1 misdemeanor is 12 months in jail and $2500 fine.
The other penalty as with any drug conviction is the suspension of your license in Virginia.
The Virginia marijuana law regarding possession is codified in Virginia Code 18.2-250.1.
Article written by A Sris
Sris Law Group